Annual Meeting

  • May 15, 2016
  • 10:00 AM
  • Shir Tikvah

We invite you to join us at Shir Tikvah’s Annual Meeting which will be held on Sunday, May 15, 2016 at 10:00 am.

At that time, the Nominating Committee (Ray Levi, Jane Binder, Ben Malakoff, Andrea Rubenstein, Greg Leder, Luke Weisberg, and Joan Bilinkoff-Corbett) will report the nominations for the 2016-2017 Board of Trustees.

The  Board of Trustees will also propose a change to the bylaws*.

Please make an effort to join us! Your participation in this process is integral to the life of our synagogue.  We’ll make it as interesting as possible and bagels will be served! We look forward to seeing you.

*At last year’s Annual Meeting, Ray Levi began his address noting how quickly his two year tenure passed. Ray said: “Initiatives that I might have hoped be fully in place, are just launching.  It really takes the first year of the presidency, even for someone who knows Shir Tikvah fairly well to get the rhythm.  And then you’re beginning to transition out.”  At that time, Ray suggested that, however demanding it may be of our volunteer group, that we consider three-year presidential terms.  The current Board has taken this counsel to heart. Current President, Luke Weisberg (with Janet’s consent!) has agreed to extend his term.  With prior consideration by the Executive Committee, the Board recommends the following by-law change to the congregation for your approval. 

ARTICLE V OFFICERS: Section 2. Election term.  All officers shall be elected at the Annual Meeting and shall serve a term of office of two years except the President who shall serve a three year term, and the President-elect and the Immediate Past President who shall serve one-year terms of office.  The President, Vice President, Secretaries and Treasurer may serve not more than 2 consecutive terms. The President can serve no more than 5 years.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software